Red Ventures

Who did you sell today?

 

And I’m sorry I’ve been on edge,

But I feel like all these edges are surrounding me,

I can’t center myself….

I might as well be falling……

And if I fall into the ground; like rain from the sky,

At least I will see that there is a road ahead,

At least I will know I’m still alive.

 

Who did you sell today?

 

You talk about this building,

Like it is made of emotion and feeling,

While I’m as replaceable as can be,

Who did I sell….

Well I really just sold me.

 

And I’m sorry I’ve been on edge,

But I feel like all these edges are surrounding me,

I can’t center myself….

I might as well be falling……

And if I fall into the ground; like rain from the sky,

At least I will see that there is a road ahead,

At least I will know I’m still alive.

 

Lies in lipstick; the most clever disguise,

You all promised the world to me; then took my world hostage in the middle of the night,

Turned it upside down; the sun no longer revolves around the moon; the moon revolves around you,

The sun is just something you pretend to sell, lock it in a cell; and only let it out when it fits your scales,

Oh a Sunday Ticket to oblivion, swimming through black holes you say are made of holy water,

If you were actually human  I would kill you,

But right now I’m drowning.

 

On top of a tower of quicksand I cannot breathe,

I’m on the edge of life and death; but the worst thing is I can’t think,

They’ve exchanged my brains and my veins and now I believe I am the one to blame,

A reversal of my normal world, a pitch dark picture frame, legs lame,

Only one refrain echoes repeatedly on my brain,

“Who did you sell today?”

 

Baby I’m sorry I didn’t mean to snap……

But I had to see if I could still move my fingers and mouth…..

 

And I’m sorry I’ve been on edge,

But I feel like all these edges are surrounding me,

I can’t center myself….

I might as well be falling……

And if I fall into the ground; like rain from the sky,

At least I will see that there is a road ahead,

At least I will know I’m still alive.

 

Because now all the roads have turned into static and wire,

Exits have been given chloroform and have dissolved like fickle matter,

So I’m stuck on a road that goes on for infinity,

A straight figure 8,

My only escape is their profit,

My only escape is never really escaping.

 

My mind is gone and beaten like my liver, dissolved in the ground didn’t make a sound or a quiver,

But strangely thoughts from my past flood my mind… I can soundly remember,

The sweet fantasies of not constantly begging on my knees, of not living in a twisted fantasy,

I’m untying the knots…. I’m jumping back into reality,

My legs buckle from under me (my legs finally have feeling!)

My head is cracking open (it had been sewn shut with their propaganda and imagery!)

My eyes are closing (Am I dying?)

My pulse is slowing (I’m gone!  I’m dead!)

(I didn’t sell enough today)

 

Suddenly…..

A train whistles the same tune as the whistling wind,

Four leaf clovers swallow seeds, grow hands, and tickle my skin,

Flowers lay in their bed and beckon me under their covers,

I feel the wet kiss of my lover next to me,

The road ahead has become clear to me,

It’s filled with exits and no edges,

I’m back to being in reality.

 

I’m back to being me,

I’ve made a simple discovery, baby,

There’s more than life than what’s in a building,

Because I searched for its smile and it didn’t exist,

I searched for its tears and it asked me: “how the hell does that help us profit?”

I searched for its color and all I found was black,

I put my hand up to its neck and there was no pulse,

So how can that hold me hostage, a non-living thing?

I guess I was held hostage because I turned into a non-living thing,

I was an edge without any legs; without a pulse,

Just a soul to absolve all the bullshit,

And a will to fold,

But now I’m back, how did my brain become as washed as a stained shirt?

I’m back….

Out from the skyscraper,

Back to actual earth.

 

And I’m sorry I was on edge,

But falling helped me discover the road ahead.

Leave a Reply

