All The Time

God’s whisper of wind sets trees in crooked unison with the tallest buildings,
The buildings look emotional yet reckless, a synopsis of what everyone is feeling,
Because everyone is feeling pretty, huge, and tired, like skyscrapers built out of one of our brains wires,
And the wire turns into a mirror that used to help us see what the world is supposedly missing,
Now we have the world at our fingertips, the therapeutical mirror means absolutely nothing.

I know I am supposed to see the world as a product of my mind,
I know I am supposed to see myself as a product of my time,
I know the buildings and drugs are supposed to help me see this through,
But even though I want to see it all, I only see you.

And I know everything is replaceable with time,
The car used to be the map, the television used to be the gunpowder, and the computer used to be the mind,
But I guess I want to be a map that gets you to where you need to be, the gunpowder that protects you from the thieves,what is in your mind that keeps you from your sleep,
But instead of your ammunition, I am the algorithm that sets off your phone,
Instead of being your map, I am the reason you want to go home,
And instead of being the reason you cannot sleep, I am the reason you sleep alone.

And I know I am supposed to see the world as the mountain I have to climb,
I know I am supposed to see myself as the reason for the existence of the divine,
I know I am supposed to see myself as the fire that burns the whole world through,
But even though I want to see it all, I only see you

I would give anything I am able,
(I would take the bullet and store it inside my heart,
I would take my heart and store it inside my mind,
So I would just follow you all the time
I would take the rose and turn it into a rosary,
I would take my past and leave it buried,
I would make the afterlife non fiction,
If love was a chemical condition,
I would give my soul out like a food on a party table)
If it meant I wasn’t replaceable

I am not a map,
I am not a bullet,
I am not a mind,
I am all three,
All the time.

Leave a Reply

