Jennifer

You can buy my spirit- but it ain’t free

She drives her whistle into the back seat,

You can buy my will- but it ain’t free,

The sunshine covers the freeway and burns off her feet

 

“We have no where to go but everywhere,” her whisper sounded like a symphony,

And I could hear trumpets colliding with guitars in the background, every breath sounded like a cruel epiphany,

She taught me how to be here and she taught me why I had to go,

Saying “everywhere is somewhere, but if you stay here with me you’ll never know”

 

You can buy my spirit- but it ain’t free,

I’ve got that stock market spirit- but I ain’t ever crashing,

You can buy my will- but it ain’t free,

I’ve got that Garden of Eden will- oh that restricted freedom that is never lasting

 

Oh her spirit was a market and her will was a garden,

But her soul was a levee- flooding cities one street at a time,

And her time was money- her silver dollar smile sunk into the slime,

And as those people were baptized- we watched spirit, will, soul, and time collide,

I’ll never forget that Jennifer- when the symphony of your smile taught me how to be alive

 

You can buy my time- but it ain’t free,

I’ve got to make my own time- got to have my own currency,

You can buy my heart- but it ain’t free,

Oh you’ll have to drown in love before I can teach you how to breathe

 

She had a heart in the shape of a smile,

Oh Jennifer will you stay for a while?

She had a smile in a shape of a heart,

Oh Jennifer if you leave me I will fall apart

She had a body shaped like the most unique snowflake,

Oh Jennifer will you stay with me forever- can this be our fate?

She had a snowflake that looked like the marketplace- alive yet dead,

And I knew that Jennifer’s market was heaven- the heaven where I could never rest my head.

 

You can buy my time anytime you want,

You can buy my spirit anytime you want,

You can buy my soul anytime you want,

You can buy my heart anytime you want,

I just pray it is my head you don’t haunt,

I just pray it is my head you don’t haunt.

Leave a Reply

