Hold

Things change over time, we must all admit,

Landscapes die, economies are revived, new kinds of suffering,

People change over time, I must admit,

Priorities change, values are deranged, new kinds of interactions,

But I meet the same people everywhere I go,

Just different stories,

They walk the same beaten path just in different snow.

 

Just hold on to everything,

Just hold on to anything.

 

I’ve been down these roads before,

I know their melodies, I know their score,

I’ve been down these roads before,

In fact, I feel like these roads have traveled inside of me,

My heartbeat is the soundtrack of my soul; all my histories,

In the background, I hear everyone in meet singing along with me,

Different languages, but the same tune,

A deadly million-car pile up of lust, deceit, and our perfumes.

 

Just hold on to everything,

Just hold on to me.

 

People evolve over time with history,

New plagues and new technologies,

Todays phone was yesterdays sandscript,

Todays bomb was yesterdays quicksand,

But todays plans were yesterdays plans,

And todays bliss was yesterdays bliss,

Its the point where the roads of our histories meet a dead end,

Where the past, future, and the present shake hands,

It’s the invisible utopia we don’t see,

Just hold on to everything,

Just hold on to me…

 

Just hold on to everything,

Just hold on to me.

 

The road repeats yet it is new,

Trapped yet free too,

Just hold on to me,

Just hold on to me.

Leave a Reply

