Don’t Blame The Girl (Eternity)

You burn those bridges until they are nothing but artifacts,

Then with pieces of old and burnt wood- you try to build the bridge back,

The water beneath- I’m a stone you skipped that is stuck in coral reef,

You didn’t give me enough dignity to let me swim to the other side,

And you didn’t save me when I was about to choke…

 

Yet you blame a girl,

One that I would have never touched,

Yet you blame a girl,

Because you felt guilty in your conscience….

For believing that I may have not been enough.

 

Well don’t blame the girl,

Because you did this all to yourself……

 

And we can talk for what seems like an eternity,

Over what you considered to be some tragic mistake,

Or you could let me swim to shore or go away,

Let me live or let me decay,

In your purgatory I will not rot away.

 

Good god I’m always stuck trying to get myself back in your good graces,

But God knows that I am so graceless,

A combination of billions of lost stories and faces,

Have culminated in a year of love that was so wasted.

 

And sometimes I still hear those wedding bells ring,

A chorus and bridge inside my head that cannot escape,

But like the bridges you burnt down they will have to fade.

 

And you can blame the girl,

But you did this to yourself,

You put a gun to my head,

And blamed me for wanting to escape death,

You can blame the girl,

But you did this to yourself,

You can blame the girl,

But you can’t question my loyalty,

So what’s the point of blaming anything,

Your conscience must feel guilty,

So throw around insults like home-wrecker,

For a home you watched get burnt to the ground,

She was just a spectator in the crowd; waiting for someone to come with a hose,

But the guilt of the fire left you feeling vulnerable… the ashes made you feel like your whole life was burnt rubber,

Blackened yet colorful and exposed.

 

So don’t blame the girl,

You did this to yourself,

Still dream of those wedding bells,

But anytime I hear them….

I change the song,

To this one I’m singing right now,

And the chorus and the truth sets me free and I sing so loud…..

 

That we can talk for what seems like an eternity,

Over what was my most fatal mistake,

Or we can burn me to the ground and say it was someone else’s fault,

Or you can let me run away from this assault.

 

Yeah we can talk for what seems like an eternity,

Over what you considered to be my only mistake,

But don’t blame the girl for what you caused,

Don’t blame someone else for your pause,

Don’t blame the girl for your betrayal,

Don’t blame a little piece of heaven for you putting me through hell.

 

I was trapped inside a box for a week,

The lid was the sky and the tape were my hands and feet,

I couldn’t move on and yet I couldn’t stay,

Yet you blame a girl for me feeling this way,

I was sinking into toxic water for weeks,

And you were in the boat that could have rescued me,

Yet you just laughed when you drove by,

I would have drowned happily if you just said you would be mine.

 

Yet you blame a girl for ending this,

As if she threw me into the sea,

As if she rejected all of my good qualities,

As if she was the one that left me when I loved her the most,

As if she was the one who couldn’t decide to pull the plug when I was comatose,

But still it is my fault,

Here’s my wound; your body can be the salt,

And blame me and the girl please,

Blame me and the girl if it helps you sleep….

 

And we can talk for what seems like an eternity……

 

But this is the last time we will talk about it all,

Fuck this shit I loved you so much and it was for nothing at all,

I was stuck in purgatory but now I hope I just dissolve,

Into the grass below and into the sky at the same time,

So no one will bother me and I can still feel so alive,

I will be apart of heaven and a part of the dirt,

And  I will follow you and haunt everyone of your steps left on this earth,

And for all the men you take in and try to compare them with me,

I will strike them with plagues and sentence them to the same purgatory,

The same kind of one that you put me in,

And for the rest of the days they will just be sentenced to the prison of your mind;

A figment of your imagination,

Anytime there’s sun I will turn it into rain,

And the clouds will form a monument and a portrait of me,

I will be all your thoughts and all your dreams,

And then maybe you’ll know what you put me through,

But anytime you cry out to the sky,

I won’t blame myself,

I will blame the motherfucker sitting next to you.

 

(So don’t blame the girl,

For what you did to yourself,

Yeah, don’t blame the girl,

You did it to yourself,

Don’t blame the girl,

I loved you so much,

Don’t blame the girl,

It was never enough,

Don’t blame the girl,

I will never be enough,

Don’t blame the girl,

All I wanted was your love,

Don’t blame the girl,

All I wanted was you,

Don’t blame the girl,

For the things you put me through,

Don’t blame the girl,

She didn’t break my heart,

Don’t blame the girl,

It meant nothing at all,

Don’t blame the girl,

Why did you do this to me?

Don’t blame the girl,

When you felt those other men did they compare to me?

Don’t blame the girl,

For the death of my once vibrant heart,

Don’t blame the girl,

For you letting us fall apart)

 

I loved you so much.

Leave a Reply

