Where Have You Been?

It hurts to know what people really think of you,

The words they say behind your back,
When all you can say is that you love them,
Love them to the moon and back.
 
It hurts to know what people do when they are alone,
Free from your eyes,
It hurts to know what people do when they are alone,
Betrayal and lies.
 
It hurts to exist in this world at all,
But it hurts more when you love,
I wish I could just drift away without a feeling or a care,
I wish I could drown in nothingness,
Avoid all despair.
 
This is the most simple song I’ve ever written,
Because it is 5 A.M. and I don’t know where you been,
The sound of screaming sirens and crashing taxi’s,
Are you living a life without me?
 
It hurts when the communication ends,
Then the torture begins,
I sit here at 5 A.M. in the morning,
And I’m wondering what bed you are sleeping in.
 
What did I do to deserve this?
I’ve always tried to be kind,
What did I do to deserve this?
I’ve never told you any lies,
What did I do to deserve this?
When all I did was love you,
And all you are doing is loving someone else.
 
It hurts to know what is supposed to be unknown,
To turn over those sinking stones,
It hurts to know what starts will always end,
It hurts when I know where you’ve been,
But I’m still waiting for an explanation,
Strangling myself with phone lines,
When you love someone it is tough to breathe,
Tough to feel alive.
 
The other day I was breaking down,
They always say depression comes in waves,
Sometimes I just wish I would drown,
But then I saw your picture; framed in the corner,
I knew I had to go on,
I knew I had life in you,
But now someone else is putting their life in you,
And I’m just up at 5 A.M.,
Waiting to hear a word from you.
 
You didn’t have to lie to me,
Disguises are more disgusting then the actual disgusting,
You didn’t have to lie to me,
You didn’t have to keep me waiting,
Because I’m still going to be singing at 6 AM,
A song wondering where you have been.
Leave a Reply

