Seven

Cut the reverb,
Cut the poetry,
My guitar is all I need,
Cuddled with me under my sheets,
Protecting me from everything bleak,
When humans don’t understand you,
Lay with your guitar and sing your blues.

Cut the half-truths in half,
Fill in the blanks with a tragic past,
What haunts you also haunts me,
We just have different ways of understanding.

Cut the circle……I don’t want in,
Lies strangle me and tear my skin,
Cut the propaganda… I’m not buying it,
I’m not so different from you.

Cut the reverb,
Cut the poetry,
My guitar is all I need,
Cuddled with me under my sheets,
Protecting me from everything bleak,
When humans don’t understand you,
Lay with your guitar and sing your blues.

It’s always the same song,
Just with different chords,
It’s always the same writer,
The book just has different words,
So drink your liquor,
Make sure your song rhymes,
I’ll just dream of a time,
Where we could kill time.

Cut the prayers,
Because I need a confession,
For all the things I haven’t done wrong,
Rummaging through my head for happy thoughts,
The kind you say I should never have,
Seven angels trapped in a sea,
They haven’t sinned,
But for some reason they always deserve suffering.

Cut the reverb,
Cut the poetry,
My guitar is all I need,
Cuddled with me under my sheets,
Protecting me from everything bleak,
When humans don’t understand you,
Lay with your guitar and sing your blues.

Cut the reverb,
Cut the poetry,
I would rather dwell on something much more bleak,
Be amongst the forrest and the trees,
Be amongst the wind that transcends understanding,
Because it seems like no one understands me,
So I will just dwell on the most primitive of things.

Cut the half truths in half,
Cut the circle,
I don’t want in,
Lies strangle me and tear off my skin,
Cut the propaganda…. I’m not buying it….

I’m not so different from you.

And I hope that haunts you.

Leave a Reply

