Four Walls

I am not a human being,
I am just a pulse on a string,
Microwave dinners and yelling at the TV,
Sell and tax my brain, please,
I’m disgusting and I’m cheap,
I’m cynical and I’m bleak,
Yet, I’m optimistic at the same time,
Pull my string and watch me rhyme,
Or don’t do anything at all,
There’s no world outside of our four walls,
Yet the world is to blame for our problems,
They say only cocaine and women can solve them,
Where do we go from?
The path isn’t so clear?
But let’s look for some other people to blame,
Let’s leave our city in flames,
I don’t know where I go from here.

All I know….

I am not a human being,
I am just a pulse on a string,
Microwave dinners and yelling at the TV,
Sell and tax my brain, please,
I’m disgusting and I’m cheap,
I’m cynical and I’m bleak,
And I don’t have any clue what is going on,
Oh just smoking weed on North Tryon,
But if I had a chance…
I would reach back and be with you,
Don’t know what we would get into,
We will claim we know what is going on,
Smoking weed on North Tryon,
Yet not doing anything at all,
Just me and my four walls.

Just me and my four walls.

One day we will reunite, baby,
When are bones are thin and withering,
Before we can reunite for eternity,
We will reunite for a weekend,
We will be skinny dipping at the river bank,
Donating ourselves at the blood bank,
Depositing our final cents at the Wells Fargo bank,
And we will say the truth we have always known,
That we are puppets yet we are free,
Skinned erect yet flying away,
Dancing to the silent heartbeat of the economy.

One more time…

One day we will reunite, baby,
When are bones are thin and withering,
Before we can reunite for eternity,
We will reunite for a weekend,
We will be skinny dipping at the river bank,
Donating ourselves at the blood bank,
Depositing our final cents at the Wells Fargo bank,
And we will say the truth we have always known,
That we are puppets yet we are free,
Skinned erect yet flying away,
Dancing to the silent heartbeat of the economy.

Because…

I am not a human being,
I am just a pulse on a string,
Microwave dinners and yelling at the TV,
Sell and tax my brain, please,
I’m disgusting and I’m cheap,
I’m cynical and I’m bleak,
Yet, I’m optimistic at the same time,
Pull my string and watch me rhyme.

Leave a Reply

