Balcony

I’m up to my neck in struggles,

I’m up to my neck in strife,

I’m up to my neck in necks,

But I’m beginning to see the light.


There’s a film playing in the sky that only we are invited to,

The pixelated clouds align over the burnt out film of the sun,

The overhead lightning strikes and a romance that never should have happened has suddenly begun,

And the stars project everything our past lives said we should reject,

And we plant these seeds on this balcony… because it is the closest thing to heaven we have,

Hopefully the plant of our romance will grow into heaven and into the afterlife,

A movie that never ends,

My sun goes around your moon and with a kiss it starts over again.


I’m up to my neck in struggles,

I’m up to my neck in strife,

I’m up to my neck in necks,

But I’m beginning to see the light.


Watching the sunset from this balcony,

As the people below us move in packs…. like drunken ants on martinis,

They will stumble and sting with words as they plague themselves to find the human pesticide that will spray them blind,

Wake up hungover in a cloud of their blind creation and call it a weekend,

But we are different… a plant of wisdom… two angels with wings that are drunk on the sweetest rum,

Seeds that have been sprouting for centuries,

Smothered and hungover in the clouds like a frail and thin piece of wind,

Absolve in the acidy rainy liquid of our original sins,

And you turn to me as our flower blooms so beautifully and say: “Give me your seed, give me your ring!”

The exit music of our movie brings us to our knees,

Who knew we could find love on a balcony.


I’m up to my neck in struggles,

I’m up to my neck in strife,

I’m up to my neck in necks,

But I’m beginning to see the light.


(Yeah I’ve seen it!)

I’m up to my neck in your neck,

A hickey covered balcony filled below with rooms of regrets,

And the lobby that is your feet that lets you run away from your past,

And into the open door of my heart,

It is a little building with a small balcony,

Filled with little seeds,

But it moves upwards to my head,

And that’s the place you’ll be for eternity,

And I’ll be up to my neck in the heartbeat of our most unique movie.


I’m up to my neck in struggles,

I’m up to my neck in strife,

I’m up to my neck in necks,

But I’m beginning to see the light.

Leave a Reply

