Summer Skin

I still think about it,
Shedding my summer skin off,
Changing my leaves,
Falling into the leaves of fall.

I still think about it,
You wandering next to me,
Your skin always stayed the same shade,
Pale yet tan and glimmering,
You were the moon shining a light, a patient glow,
On all the chaos of change roaring below.

You were beautiful,
And you were beautifully the same,
But by the end of the summer,
Something had changed.

And I think about it all the time,
The time we’ve lost,
And I think about it all the time,
The time I lost you,
I fill my drinks up with lost time,
And when I run out,
I’ll have no time left.

Keeping my expectations low,
The only way I could kick their teeth,
Keep my expectations low,
Only way to avoid the bleak,
Keep my expectations low….
Until I met you,
Then expectations didn’t exist,
They can’t,
I was constantly in awe of you.

So no wonder good or bad,
It was the wonder that always amazed me,
Even when you were screaming,
You were angelic,
Such a puzzle to me.

I still think about it,
A statute with a seductive state,
Supple lips and never ending hair,
Cuddle up in your sheets like they were your armor and shield,
Moaning every morning,
Spinning around me like a ferries wheel.

And I think about it all the time,
The time we’ve lost,
And I think about it all the time,
The time I lost you,
I fill my drinks up with lost time,
And when I run out,
I’ll have no time left.

My brain is a levee,
Pictures of you are the water,
Your face pours in and even my steps being to falter,
So picturesque these pictures of you swarming my head,
An ARMY of glorious memories I don’t want to see,
I feel guilty,
But it’s a war I’m willing to lose daily.

Running through that park a year after we met,
I played you your favorite song,
We fucked and we left,
And on the way home you said you would never leave,
But then the summer ended and your leaves changed,
And honestly it’s still shocking.

And I think about it all the time

What we’ve lost,
And I think about it all the time,
The time I lost you,
I fill my drinks up with lost time,
And when I run out,
I’ll have no time left.

Summer is ending,
I feel myself changing seasons too,
But when you left I didn’t change seasons,
I became the season I was with you….

And I think about it all the time…..

Leave a Reply

